Carnegie Mellon   |   College of Engineering   |   Employment


Brian LinBrian Lin has been award the best paper award TMS announced that MSE graduate student, Brian Lin will be awarded best paper at the TMS 2015 Annual Meeting & Exhibition in March 2015 in Orlando, Florida. Read more.

Jay WhitacreWhitacre receives "Resonate" award Professor Jay Whitacre received one of the 2014 "Resonate" awards from the Resnick Sustainability Institute at Caltech. The award recognizes his achievements as founder of Aquion Energy, spun out of Carnegie Mellon University in late 2009. Read more.

David LaughlinLaughlin Presented with Bain Award
At the May 15, 2014 meeting of the Pittsburgh Golden Chapter of the ASM International, Professor David Laughlin was given the Edgar C. Bain Award. This award is given to "an outstanding member (of ASM International) for valuable contributions to the metallurgical and materials community." Read more.

Jay WhitacreWhitacre named one of "World's Top 25 Eco-Innovators" Professor Jay Whitacre was named 19th on Fortune's World's Top 25 Eco-Innovators list for his work on developing a long-lasting saltwater battery. See the entire list here.

Gregory RohrerGregory Rohrer receives American Ceramics Society Award
Congratulations to Gregory Rohrer on receiving The American Ceramic Society’s W. David Kingery Award, which recognizes distinguished lifelong achievements involving multidisciplinary and global contributions to ceramic technology, science, education and art. Read more

Jay WhitacreWhitacre's Aquion Engergy named one of Tech Review's 50 "smartest" companies
Professor Jay Whitacre's company, Aquion Energy was named one of Tech Review's 50 "smartest" companies of 2014. An article was also featured on their website: Storing the Sun.

Jay WhitacreJay Whitacre receives Carnegie Science Award Whitacre is being honored for developing a novel sodium-ion battery that can be made using low-cost materials and manufacturing techniques. Read more

Subra SureshChinese Academy of Sciences Elects Subra Suresh as Foreign MemberPresident Subra Suresh has been elected a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) for his scientific contributions in materials science and engineering, including his work connecting nanomechanical cell structure to disease states. Read more

Lily NguyenLily Nguyen awarded research fellowship Lily Nguyen has been awarded a $5,000 International Research Fellowship Award to travel to the Karlsruhrer Institute fur Technologie in Germany. Lily is a current Ph.D student working with Marc DeGraef on the characterization of grain shapes and their evolution from 3D microstructure.

Erica SampsonErica Sampson awarded best paper prize Erica Sampson has been awarded the best paper award at the IAS (Argentinian Iron and Steel Institute) annual Steel Conference in Argentina. The prestigious conference on Ironmaking, Steelmaking, Rolling and Steel Products is the major steel conference in South America. The conference took place from 5-7 November 2013 at Rozario, Argentina. Read more

Justin FreedmanJustin Freedman awarded NSERC Fellowship Justin Freedman has been awarded the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Postgraduate Scholarship Doctoral Award for his studies in mechanical engineering. NSERC, the Canadian equivalent of the National Science Foundation, provides funding to high-caliber students who are engaged in doctoral programs in the natural sciences or engineering. Read more

Michael McHenryMichael McHenry recipient of Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award Michael McHenry has been chosen as recipient of the 2014 TMS Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materials Division Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award. This award recognizes an individual for research excellence in one or more areas related to electronic, magnetic, and photonic materials science. McHenry was nominated by MSE alumni, Matthew Willard and will be recognized during the 143rd TMS Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA in February 2014.

Spring 2014 Newsletter clear Spring 2014 Newsletter
Brochure clear MSE Recruitment Brochure


The Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) is one of seven academic departments in Carnegie Institute of Technology, the engineering college at Carnegie Mellon. MSE has a long and distinguished tradition in materials education and research, and today our faculty continue to address the more important and challenging issues at the forefront of science and technology.

Materials Science and Engineering is an interdisciplinary activity that applies the principles of basic sciences and engineering to understanding the behavior of materials, their development and applications. Both our undergraduate and graduate students are exposed to this interdisciplinary approach.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
Wean Hall 3325
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone (412) 268-2700
Fax (412) 268-7596

Apply Fall Application deadline is January 15.
Spring Application deadline is October 15.

Fall Application deadline is February 1.
Spring Application deadline is October 15.

Upcoming Seminars


Copyright © 2008 Department of Materials Science & Engineering. All Rights Reserved.
Site designed by Academic Web Pages.